Big Bash League 2021-22

The Big Bash League 2021/22 will be the 11th edition of the men’s Big Bash, which is the main T20 competition held annually and run by Cricket Australia.

This season, the league started on December 5th 2021, with the first game of the year being the Sydney Sixers taking on the Melbourne Stars. It comes to an end nearly two months later on 28th January, at the end of the week-long playoff phase.

Big Bash League 2021-22

The 2021-22 season is taking place across 14 different grounds all over Australia – and this year sees the Junction Oval hosting a Big Bash game for the very first time – alongside other grounds including Coffs Harbour and Geelong. Meanwhile, the Adelaide Oval and Perth Stadium have both been scheduled to host seven fixtures. However, with Covid always hanging over the sporting world, restrictions and closures may see venues changing as the season progresses.


The same teams take part in the league and have done for the past decade, these include:

  1. Adelaide Strikers
  2. Brisbane Heat
  3. Hobart Hurricanes
  4. Melbourne Renegades
  5. Melbourne Stars
  6. Perth Scorchers
  7. Sydney Sixers
  8. Sydney Thunder

In the history of the league, the two most successful teams to date are the Perth Scorchers and the Sydney Sixers who have both won it three times – and the Perth Scorchers women’s team currently holds the women’s Big Bash title.


The Big Bash is formatted as follows. It is a double round-robin where teams can earn two points for a win, one for a ‘no result’ and no points for a loss. There were several complaints last season around numerous umpire mistakes and there was talk of the addition of a review system. However, with the Covid restrictions causing extra work, this will likely be put back for another year.


The Bash Boost is the bonus point that is given to the team that has the most runs at the 10-over stage. This boost system was introduced last season and looks set to stay this year along with the Power Surge, which is a two-over batting powerplay that could be taken any time past the first four overs. Last season they also added X-Factor substitutes which have been carried over to this season.

Another innovation added is that batters are now given 75 seconds each to reach the crease as soon as a wicket falls. If they fail to arrive in time, the bowler will be given a free delivery at the stumps, treated as part of the innings. It will go down as a dot should the bowler miss.


The 2021/22 season was fantastic for cricket betting, and it saw the defending champions, the Sydney Sixers keep hold of their title, being the leaders of the group when the round-robin stage ended – and going on to lift the trophy. They opened with Josh Philippe, who was crowned Player of the Tournament whilst his teammate, Alex Hales, ended up as the season’s highest run-scorer. Furthermore, Jhye Richardson earned an IPL deal after taking 29 wickets – which is more than any other player. Their closest challengers this year, unsurprisingly, were the Perth Scorchers.


Although this is an Australian tournament, this year has a very English feel, with 5 of this season’s players coming from England, with some having international experience alongside other uncapped players. Sussex player, George Garton has signed for Jason Gillespie’s Adelaide Strikers, taking his place beside Rashid Khan.

Meanwhile, Tom Abell and Ben Duckett have their debut season with Brisbane Heat. Meanwhile, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahir Khan, Qais Ahmad and Mohammad Nabi give the league a strong Afghan spin-bowling presence. Also in the league is the excellent Nepalese wrist-spinner, Sandeep Lamichhane who plays for the Hobart Hurricanes beside Harry Brook and Jordan Thompson from Yorkshire.

The only team with four registered overseas options is the Melbourne Renegades, with Zahir and Nabi, who are joined by English left-armer Reece Topley and Unmukt Chand. Chand, the Indian batter has played for three different IPL teams as well as having experience in the United States’ Minor League competition. He became the first Indian to play in the Big Bash League.


If you are based in the Indian Subcontinent, then Sony holds the TV rights. For Australian viewers, it is Fox Sports and Seven Network that hold the television rights, with subscription broadcaster, Fox, showing every game and the free to air Seven Network will simulcast 45 of the matches.

UK fans can watch it courtesy of Sky Sports who have the rights up until 2025 and can listen to the games free of charge on Radio 5 Live Sports Extra.